EIDF Data Science Cloud Policies
End of Life Policy for User Accounts and Projects
What happens when an account or project is no longer required, or a user leaves a project
These situations are most likely to come about during one of the following scenarios:
- The retirement of project (usually one month after project end)
- A Principal Investigator (PI) tidying up a project requesting the removal of user(s) no longer working on the project
- A user wishing their own account to be removed
- A failure by a user to respond to the annual request to verify their email address held in the SAFE
For each user account involved, assuming the relevant consent is given, the next step can be summarised as one of the following actions:
- Removal of the EIDF account
- The re-owning of the EIDF account within an EIDF project (typically to PI)
- In addition, the corresponding SAFE account may be retired under scenario 4
It will be possible to have the account re-activated up until resources are removed (as outlined above); after this time it will be necessary to re-apply.
A user's right to use EIDF is granted by a project. Our policy is to treat the account and associated data as the property of the PI as the owner of the project and its resources. It is the user's responsibility to ensure that any data they store on the EIDF DSC is handled appropriately and to copy off anything that they wish to keep to an appropriate location.
A project manager or the PI can revoke a user's access accounts within their project at any time, by locking, removing or re-owning the account as appropriate.
A user may give up access to an account and return it to the control of the project at any time.
When a project is due to end, the PI will receive notification of the closure of the project and its accounts one month before all project accounts and DSC resources (VMs, data volumes) are closed and cleaned or removed.
The current policy is:
- The content of VM disk images is not backed up
- The VM disk images are not backed up
We strongly advise that you keep copies of any critical data on on an alternative system that is fully backed up.